Monday, November 28, 2005

Let's talk about movies and money

Top 10 grossing films

Alright, since I love watching movies a lot and my curiosity is etting in again, let's see the top grossing films. Most of them are really my favorites.


1. Titanic (1997) by Paramount Pictures
Lifetime Gross: $ 600.788

My favorite movie of all time. This is the first movie I've watched more than 20 times. I can remember, a former suitor gave me a book of Titanic, not knowing I was so in love with the movie that I don't care enough for the book. I simply love Leo, my dad usually gets mad because of me buying those huge posters of him and the movie, posted in every part of the house..hahaha

2. Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (1977) by 20th Century Fox
Lifetime Gross: $460.998


Hindi pa ko pinapanganak nung ipalabas 'to. Pero syempre, nung bata ako, sikat sya kaya naki-uso na rin ako.

3. Shrek2 (2004) by Dreamworks Pictures

Lifetime Gross: $436.721


"Accidentally in Love" is one of the song that reminds me of this movie. I love the OST and the film. Definitely, not Shrek.

4. E.T. the Extra-Terrestial (1982) by Universal Pictures
Lifetime Gross: $433.005

I don't know if I've watch this movie or not. Honestly, Im not fond of aliens and ET's. Nagtataka nga ko bakit nasama 'to sa Top10. Pwede bang burahin? hehe
Buti na lang, di pa rin ako buhay ng nung pinalabas ang movie na E.T.

5. Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace (1999) by 20th Century Fox
Lifetime Gross: $431.088


This made a big hit and difference in Star War stories. Buti na lang naisip nila umpisahan talaga yung kwento. Nagtanong ka ba kung saan galing ang "metaclorians"? Most of the viewers did not like the new version of this and most of them hate the fact that Anakin being the "Chosen One" for it conflicts the faith we have for God. Its just a movie, a fiction. Don't be too cynical about it, comparing it to God and where life came from. But, they have a point, right?! Drop it, it can be another topic.


6. Spider-Man (2002) by Columbia Pictures
Lifetime Gross: $407.681

Okay naman yung movie, bakit nasa Top 10? Daming nanood eh, okay na rin kaysa E.T. (bitter!)

7. Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (2005) by 20th Century Fox
Lifetime Gross: $380.262

Another Star War movie in Top 10. Nakakarami ka na ah! Cute ni Anakin, yun lang.



8. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) by New Line Cinema
Lifetime Gross: $377.027

Akala ko wala nang LOTR, buti na lang. Favorite ko 'to, walang aangal! hehe Just browse other posts and you'll know, confirmed and ask why again.

9. Spider-Man 2 (2004) by Columbia Pictures
Lifetime Gross: $373.378

Strike 2 and Spider-Man. In fairness, ok naman yung movie.


10. The Passion of the Christ (2004) by New Market Films
Lifetime Gross: $370.500

A film crafted by Mel Gibson. The scenes is this movie were close to what really happened. It's the great suffering of Christ who died for our salvation. In our hearts, Christ would always be number 1.


Wednesday, November 23, 2005

junk mail? maybe..

Whew! My God, I know how pathetic this mail may sound, but I was managing my mails and got this one under my sent list.. While reading it, I was too stunned and literally asked myself, "Did I wrote and actually send this?" Oh well, past is past. Now, I can only say one thing, I am capable to love! (love? or like? or attraction? kayo na humusga..hahaha )

Read this mail and enjoy..
(i did not make any edition, copied from my yahoo account)

Date: May 2, 2005
From: ***my name and my e-mail add***

Subject: Re: hi
To: ***his name and e-mail add***

my dear ***,

this may be the simplest mail that you will ever received, corny noh? but all my cares and all my love is in here..i miss you already,i dont know how possible it can be to miss a person you just talked with, but thats the way i feel right now. its like im getting most of your time and still, its not enough. i know, too much would be unhealthy for both of us. i dont wanna be selfish and take most of your time (and i really love talking to you and being with you on the other line, either text or call). i really appreciate all the efforts in calling me and all those text messages. i know its not that easy for you to send text messages..sometimes i get so guilty bothering you..but you told me ok lang di ba? i cant help but feel guilty pa rin eh..hehe just like the way you feel when i dont come to work..

***, i really dont know wat is happening between us..just like your song for me..hehe i guess it doesnt matter right now for you kasi you just told me to go with the flow,, ='( well, having you is enough na for me.i couldnt ask for more..thank you very much for being there for me..

thank you also for sending those cutie stuffs with smileys and screen savers..
i cant help myself but miss you each time and each moment of my day..like i told you before, you're the first one that comes into my mind everytime i woke up..please dont blame me for missing you so much and for feeling this way..im trying my very best to balance everything in our lives.you're too special for me..if i could only put into words what i feel right now and tell you how much you mean to me,,,


time to go..talk to you soon..mwah

-nina


*****To my sis: Happy Birthday, Joanna. I love you so much*****

Monday, November 21, 2005

singkwenta, tag, kape atbp.

Guess what? Im an hour late from my shift, good thing Keith is in Bangkok or else, Im dead.

Flashback..10 minutes

Nakasakay ako sa dyip, kasalukuyang tinatahak ang tahimik na daan ng Alabang-Zapote Road. Oras? limang minuto makalipas ang alas dos ng umaga. Inabot ko yung bente pambayad sa driver, ako lang ang sakay sa likod, di ko alam kung bakit nagtanong pa rin yung driver ng dyip kung ilan. "Isa lang po dun sa bente dyan lang sa Northgate", sumbat ko. (Adik ka ba? kita mong isa lang ako.. Manong, kakagising ko lang, wag mo sirain araw ko). "Sukli", sabi nya sabay abot nung barya. Instinct na yata talaga na bilangin ko yung sukli, dalawang limang piso at dalawang piso. "Kulang po ng singkwenta yung sukli", gusto kong ihiyaw dun sa driver pero utak ko lang ang nakarinig. Gusto ko pang idagdag, "Manong, pag ako ba nagbayad ng 7 pesos lang, ok lang sa inyo?", pero di ko ginawa. Naisip ko kasi, baka kung ano pa mangyari, ako lang ang sakay (inuulit ko) at pasado alas-dos na ng madaling araw, mahirap na.. Bahala na, naisip ko, digital na ang karma ngayon, malakas ang signal. OO, singkwenta lang yun, ano ba naman kung kulang di ba?! Pero sana hindi unfair. Nagtatrabaho ako para tustusan lahat ng pangangailangan ko, minsan pati na rin luho, at para tumulong sa pamilya ko di para magbigay ng singkwentang sobra sa pamasaheng itinalaga ng gobyerno. Sige, baligtarin natin ang sitwasyon, ako yung nagbayad ng kulang ng singkwenta, ano sa tingin mo gagawin nung driver? Malamang, minura na ko nun o kaya pasigaw na sasabihin, "Kulang ng singkwenta yung bayad mo Miss" at lahat ng sakay sa dyip, sabay-sabay titingin sa yo, kulang na lang matunaw ka sa hiya. Hindi lang isang beses nangyari sa kin yun, marami na at ilang beses ko na rin pinalampas. Dati kasi nakipag-away na ko sa driver dahil di pa legal nun ang magtaas ng pamasahe, pero ang singil, sobra pa. Anong nangyari? wala..di rin nya binigay yung nararapat na sukli sa akin. Nakipagmatigasan..ok lang, naisip ko, karma. Isipin mo na lang kung pagsasamahin lahat ng singkwenta nasayang ko dahil sa mga pasaway na driver na yan at sasayangin pa. Lesson? Magbayad ng sakto!

Oras...kinse minutos makalipas ang alas dos ng madaling araw...

Pag-akyat ko sa 3rd floor ng building namin, wala yung mga teammates ko. Nakita ko si Migs nakatayo kausap yung isang MOD. At dahil late na nga ko, diretso ako sa pc para mag-time in, di ko muna tinanong si Migs kung nasan na ang mga kolokoy kong kasama. After 5 minutes, nalaman ko nasa baba lahat ng kasama ko, nasa 2nd floor, nandun sa MOD Station trying to get their tags for the station. I seemed lost, yun pala, may bagong policy. Not again...(parang de javu, my company is well known for coming up with "very good" policies, believe me..)

Bumaba ako ng second floor, nakipila sa mala-box office hit na kumpol ng mga agents dun sa MOD Station. Dahil may seating issues, naisip nila na magkaron ng tag ang bawat pc station para walang agents na gumagala at lumulusot na wala silang pc na pwedeng gamitin. At para mabantayan ang bilang ng mga computer at mga agents na pumapasok, nag-assign sila ng tag. Sorry ka na lang pag naubusan ka ng pwesto, isa kang certified squatter sa araw na yun. At kung minamalas-malas ka, pati sa mga susunod na araw, mahihiwalay ka sa piling ng team mo. Effective? daw..

Opinyon ko, problema lang dala ng mga tags na yan. Bakit? Imagine, every team, 10 stations lang ang assigned. We are currently, 27. Goodluck sa 17 na magiging squatters. Pakalat-kalat, paano kung napunta ka sa 2nd floor, yung team and supervisor mo, nasa 3rd floor? Goodluck kung may tumulong sa yo.. hassle pa yung bago ka mag-log in, dadaan ka sa MOD to claim your tag and then go back to deposit it kung lunch mo na, balik ulit pagkatpos ng lunch mo to claim your tag and then log back in the phone and then before you leave the office,deposit the tag back to the MOD Station and log out. Ano yun? Baggage counter? Ang talino talaga ng nakaisip..walang magawa..tsk tsk (matagal na kong hanga sa mga pakulo sa opisina namin. Well, they just proved their worth..with all sarcasm, of course)

Action: they can arrange call routing or schedules or set up new stations (that would take time; for now, they settle for what they just launched, assigning tags)

kape..kape..at kape pa rin..

Kung meron mang ibang liquid na dumadaloy sa mga ugat ko maliban sa dugo, kape yun. Pag late na ko (katulad ngayon) at di pa ko nakakain, kape ang almusal ko (dinner or lunch, depende sa shift). Pag antok na antok na ko, kape pa rin. Pag malamig sa office (which is always), kape pa rin. Hindi naman talaga ako mahilig uminom ng mainit na kape dati. Ngayon, bestfriend ko na ang vending machine na isang pindot ko lang, unlimited coffee ang handang ibigay sa akin. Kung sosyal ka at gusto mo ng caffe latte, magbayad ka ng sampung piso pero kung kuntento ka na sa kape na may asukal at gatas, pindot ka lang sa vending machine na nakakalat dito. Pwede rin yung walang gatas o walang asukal o pareho. Pero di pwede walang kape..lol


oras...alas diyes ng umaga

i just learned i lost my money..im so sad..

Sunday, November 20, 2005

Where is the moment?

Im currently listening to Daniel Powter's Bad Day with LSS especially on lines "Where is the moment when we needed the most?". As far as I can remember, this song captured my heart long way ago and up to now, I can't just let go of the song. Oh well, talk about how many days I've been hating this blog of mine (Why? Don't ask me why, I prefer not to think about it anymore). I just noticed earlier (while Im browsing) that I havent posted any in November. So that proved my little misunderstanding with my blog. Whew! What a bad day (or should I say, bad days? not necessarily). Look at Dan, he is simply handsome.

Updates:


  • "Tatay" passed away - he finally rested in peace and joined our forebearers. He's an Uncle but we call him "Tatay" since he is the eldest among the siblings. Filipino has this culture of calling other members in the family with different names, associating it with different reasons like you can call your grandparents; Daddy/Mommy instead of the traditional lolo/lola thing. An everyday thing.. (a friend used to say, nothing unusual) The funeral was last Tuesday, November 15, 2003. Ironically, he spent his 65th birthday (November 14)at his final burial day. With his death, its bringing back those memories I had with my dad (painful ones). It's like, there I was again at the hospital, at the burial, at the church, at the memorial park..

  • Books and movies - one of the reasons I don't have much time in blogging (aside from hating this blog for some time..hehe), Im busy with watching movies over and over again, wasting my time on some movies I've already watched a million times like; LOTR (what's new?), Coyote Ugly (supplying lines throughout the movie), Beauty and the Beast (smiling at myself being child at heart), A Walk to Remember (falling in love with character Landon), Advent Children (just staring at Cloud's innocent face), Star Wars (pausing the player each time I heard a good line and scribbing it down); loser? maybe insane or simply addict. Books? a lot..believe me, I haven't much time sleeping because of those too.

  • HSBC guy- there's this "super kulit" guy who always ask me out. Im his client (bank application for credit cards) and then started to bug me eversince I stepped into their office and handed him the requirements. I did not give him my number but he had all the information right in front of his face (with the documents I passed). How can things be so cruel? I hate it everytime I received a text message from him just asking me to meet him. Duh! "Can't you understand? I DO NOT LIKE YOU", i wanna scream that out of my wireless phone, send the text message and wish he could just walk away out of my life and get lost(after he do his job, of course. I just hope he knows how to separate professional life from his personal life). I did my part, telling him Im not interested but he doesn't seem to understand. Argghhh, slow. So, my plans of changing my phone number immedietely is intensified and he's running out my patience of waiting until next year before changing it (that was my original plan).

  • Other career - business with my friends will not materialize anymore. I talked to Angel and learned that we are dropping the business off. Everyone in the barkada seems so busy and aside from the fact that there existed a major problem with the previous partnership in the resto, its getting worse beacause Tita Amy decided not to finance the business anymore. So much for the resto, I got an offer from my grandpa to take in part with some business he has, planning of taking me to Vietnam (crossing my fingers). Although a lot of work is needed, Im enjoying the research and studies Im doing lately because somehow, I can apply my profession and practice my education. Lord, help me..

  • Work and health - I love my team so much that it hurts me everytime Im thinking that Im moving out of Alabang by the ned of this year. I was planning of getting a job nearer to Bulacan so I can go home as much as I want, instead of staying in an apartment. Im getting sick every now and then: running fever, coughing, headache and pain from my stitches I got from my apendectomy last year, this couldn't be any worse. I have to do something about those.

Im a restless soul..by my own choices, I guess. I can just sleep instead of watching and reading. I can just rest instead of thinking and blogging and surfing.. My world is turning now, I want it to stop for just a while, a day maybe..

I was browsing and I got the link from Ronald (friend of Van, I believe). Check this out for yourself..



You are 33% evil





You are not so evil. You are overall a nice person, although I wouldn't want to get on your bad side. You have an extravagant imagination.


Take this quiz at QuizGalaxy.com

I found this, here's another cute test... I liked it very much


Kindness



Kindness is most important in a boyfriend/girlfriend. You want someone who will go through everything with you - the best moments and the worst, and all of those other moments in between. You love to be able to say anything to your partner, and have them say anything to you. You are able to be extremely close with your partner for that reason.


Perfect BF/GF Piechart - QuizGalaxy.com

Take this quiz at QuizGalaxy.com

At least, I have some idea what I looked for. (as if I don't have..lol.. I even have the list, remember?) I linked the quizgalaxy to my blog because I find it exciting and fun. I took a lot of quizzes but did not bother to post other results here. Priorities must be set, I guess..haha